OLD IMPERIAL PALACE
THE WORLD HERITAGE
Ninna-ji was founded by the fifty-ninth emperor, Uda,in the fourth year of Ninna（888）. It was formerly called the Old Imperial the Palace of Omuro as it served as a residence for the ex-emperor. The temple is now noted as the headquarters of Omuro School of the Shingon Sect of Buddhism.
The headquarters of the nationally known Omuro School of Flower Arrangement is also housed in this temple compound.
Among various noteworthy temple builings as well as two tea houses, almost all of which are designated as either National Treasure or as Important Cultural Properties, the Kondo and Miedo halls were moved from the Kyoto Imperial Palace and rebuilt here. A major characteristic of the temple structures is that they include Goten, usually seen only in palace architecture.
The temple boasts a magnificient collection of treasures which amount to more than 600 items. It includes sculpture, painting, calligraphy, lacquered works and ceramics, which can be seen at Reiho-kan twice each year: April-May, and October-November. The uniquely low-branched cherry trees called Omuro Cherry is another treasure of the temple and garnishes with an additional scenic beauty in spring.
In 1994 Ninna-ji was designated as a UNESCO World Cultural Heritage Site.
33 OUCHI OMURO UKYO-KU KYOTO Tel.075- 461-1155